h1

Disappointing British Airways bread roll

April 25, 2007

I suppose the more you big something up, the more you are building yourself up for disappointment. Having abstained from white bread for the past few weeks, even the bread roll and butter on the plane had me salivating in anticipation. It was a let down. Cold, stiff and stale. I ate it anyway, after all, I had been looking forward to it for a while. In hindsight I should have set my sights higher, like a restaurant bread basket. It wasn’t until the last day in Barbados that I had the perfect bread basket. Crisp, buttery melba toast, with soft, creamy butter at David’s Place.

plane food

Incidentally and inevitably, the British Airways experience was infinitely better than American Airlines in every way imaginable. The staff were human, there were eye masks and comfy socks for all, everything was on time, and no-one had to sleep in Puerto Rico airport.

Oh and and thank you American Airlines for offering to compensate my 28 hour delay from London to St Kitts in April with an offer to reimburse me for the bottle of water and hot dog I bought to keep me going whilst sleeping under a plant pot in San Juan Departures. That took the edge off the memory of having to sleep on my suitcase with my coat on my head all night.

© Katheryn Rice 2007

Leave a Reply

