h1

Mostly eating salad

April 14, 2007

In preparation for a visit to Mr Rice in Barbados I have been following the Holford diet to the letter over the past few weeks, hence the lack of tasty recipes recently. Adhering to the principles of a low glycaemic load diet means (for me) eating more protein and lots of salad. My meals of late have been variations on this basic theme, and I am looking forward to stuffing my face with bread and butter in the next few days. I might even start with the bread rolls on the plane.

Prawn Salad

This king prawn salad looks ok, and it would have been delicious had I not got carried away with the healthiness of it by enthusiastically, perhaps even evangelically, adding the organic bean sprouts Abel & Cole had sent me in my weekly organic veg box. Good grief, they tasted horrendous – reminiscent of eating soil as a child. Unfortunately the taste permeated every aspect of the salad; once added, there was no picking them out. It was eat them or leave the whole thing. In the end I rescued the prawns off the top and put it down to experience – when it comes to organic veg, make sure you know your limits.

©2007 Katheryn Rice

Leave a Reply

