h1

Scrumpy and Sausage Casserole with Potato, Parsnip and Pear Mash

March 27, 2007

Before my last minute trip to St Kitts my friend Hannah asked me to hand over the tickets for a forthcoming play. According to Hannah, the booking was while I was away. I pooh-poohed her suggestion, reassurring her that it was on the day after I was home. Imagine my embarassment when I got back and checked the booking – our tickets were for the date Hannah had said – we’d missed the play. I learnt my lesson, but had to try to redeem myself, so I made this hearty casserole, and hosted a ladies’ night in instead. Not the same as Pinter at the Tricycle, but sausages and gossip are always good for the soul.

Scrumpy Sausage Casserole

Recipe for Scrumpy and sausage casserole with potato, parsnip and pear mash
8 high quality sausages
440ml Premium Scrumpy Cider (1 small can)
4 medium potatoes
4 pears
3 sticks celery
1 large leek
2 onions
15ml/1 tblsp wholemeal plain flour
salt and freshly ground pepper

Fry the sausages for 5 minutes, until they are browned, then put them into a casserole dish. Then fry the chopped vegetables: celery, onions, leek 2 of the potatoes for 5 minutes, until they are soft. Slowly sieve in the flour and stir it into the vegetables until it is all blended in, then cook it for one more minute. Add the cider bit by bit, add 2 of the chopped pears and cook for 5 minutes. Then pour the whole mixture over the sausages, cover and cook at 190 for 50 minutes.

Peel and slice the parsnips, remaining potatoes and pears, and cook the parsnips and pears in boiling water for 10 minutes, then add the pears for another 5 minutes. When everything is soft, drain the water, add a dollop of butter and creme fraiche and mash it up. Serve the sausages on top of the mash.

Serves 4.

© Katheryn Rice 2007

Leave a Reply

